DigiWriMo

So, apparently, there’s this challenge going around in the Intertubez about writing 50,000 digital words durning the month of November. Now, far be it from me to pass up a challenge, especially one where I get to spout off about pretty much anything I want to talk about for 30 days! I mean, I’ve got a lot to say, about a wide variety of topics. I am, in point of fact, a veritable cornucopia of verbiage regarding topics of varying significance to a broad cross-section of the English-speaking world.

Well, maybe that’s not entirely true. 

Like many who have taken to the “blogosphere” before (and after) me, I am one voice among thousands. It’s true that on (rare) occasion I have drawn the attention of others, but for the most part, I speak for- and to- myself. I write- on the occasions I actually sit down and do so- for myself. I’m not looking for accolades, praise, or financial compensation (although, I would be willing to entertain offers, should you be interested). No, I write here because it’s what I need to do, when I need to do it. 

There doesn’t tend to be any particular schedule as to when I “get the blogging bug,” really. I think about things, and sometimes get to the point where I want to write them down. I don’t even always get to the point where I’m looking to publish any of my “thinkings.” Sometimes, they’re just for me.

But, we shall see. Maybe I’m able to write 50K digital words during the month of November. Maybe I’ll be able to grow a Movember ‘stache as well (it’s more likely I’ll write 50,000 words than grow facial hair, truth be told). 

The question is, though, “About what shall i write?”

I’ve spent the last several years floating about what’s called the “edublogosphere,” or that rarified environment online where educators can blog to their little hearts’ content about issues of importance to them. I’ve produced pieces on a variety of education-related topics, from the trials and tribulations of the school administrator to a plea for “education reformers” to stop and take a look at what they’re actually doing. I’ve written about a number of topics, but haven’t spent much time writing about the topic I should really know best: myself.

Yes, I’ve allowed my personal feelings to influence my writing. I’ve gone into depth about certain feelings regarding religion, and shared my employment “issues,” 
But, through it all, my blogs have been a place where I’ve been free to share this sort of thing, and, having done so, feel OK about where I am, who I am, and what I’m doing. 

This is a very powerful thing.

I’m hoping that I’ll make the 50K word challenge this month; while I’m not the most elegant nor prolific writer, I think I’ll be able to produce SOMETHING that will engage the literati of the blogosphere for a little while, at least.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

