Epiphany!

Photo Credit: Brendan Loy, 2008

We’re talking beam-of-light-from-the-heavens-choir-of angels-singing, sudden realization of something important here:

I think I know what I want to be when I grow up.

Now, I understand that this might be a slightly odd statement from a man about to turn 42 years old, but whoever said that age and growing up were synonymous?

I stand by my original statement: I think I know what I want to be when I grow up.

I want to work in the Student Services department of a school district.

Sexy, huh?

No, not really. I know that. But seriously, I think that’s where I’m intended to be.
Here’s why:

I want to see kids be successful (think beyond test scores here if you could), and realize that not every student learns in the same way. My time in administration, dealing with student discipline issues, has taught me that students who don’t “fit in” to the traditional school setting manage to find ways to get themselves removed from the traditional school setting (suspension, expulsion, alternative programs, drop out).

So why not work with these kids, and find them a setting that will work for them? Maybe even BEFORE they get into trouble.

My ideal job, I think, would be to be in charge of alternative programs- distance ed, home schooling, “opportunities” programs, and the person who handled discipline hearings that referred students to those programs. Kids who really NEED something different. Kids who WANT to be successful, but just don’t fit in the traditional program.

These are the students who have been left, not just behind, but out, entirely. And I want to help them. I want to be the advocate for the kid who’s “different.” The one who has potential, but just isn’t making it. The smart kid who is always in trouble, failing all her classes because she “just won’t apply herself.”

You know. THAT kid.

They need someone.

I think that someone could be me.

2 comments so far

  1. sean williams on

    I think you may be on to something here, you would be great at that sort of job! The kids you are talking about DO need somebody like you to advocate for them and help them find a way to be successful in a non traditional way. Good luck on getting that job when you grow up, those kids will still need you.

  2. Drifting « Middle School AP on

    […] talked about my job status in this space before; I went from a job I really liked but had to leave because it was eliminated by budget cuts to one […]


Leave a Reply

